BJP’s 39th foundation day: BJP has become major political parties in India


New Delhi: The Bhartiya Janata Party will be celebrating its 39th foundation day Saturday. Now BJP has become the major political parties in India, along with the Indian National Congress & its official ideology is “integral humanism”, 1st formulated by Deendayal Upadhyaya in 1965.

“The BJP stands tall due to its democratic ethos and patriotic zeal. This is a party that is always on the ground, at the forefront of helping fellow Indians. Our development work has endeared the party to all sections of society, across the length and breadth of India,” Modi said.

“I am confident that the entire family of BJP Karyakartas would be working day and night to ensure that our party and our allies are blessed yet again by the people of India. In the last 5 years lots have been done and we want to do much more for the country,” he added.

On the occasion, BJP president Amit Shah called upon party workers to put in an “untiring effort” to build a new India under Modi. Modi also put out a short video featuring speeches of party’s founders, Atal Bihari Vajpayee and LK Advani, besides those of him and Shah.

The BJP was founded in 1980 by leaders of the erstwhile Jana Sangh, which had merged in 1977 with Janata Party – an amalgam of several anti-Congress parties.

In the first Lok Sabha polls it fought in 1984, the BJP won only two seats but has since gone from strength to strength, winning a majority of seats for the first time in 2014.

BJP is a right-wing party, & its policy has historically reflected Hindu nationalist positions & it formed by Syama Prasad Mukherjee in 1951 .

The party expresses a commitment to Hindutva, and its policy has historically reflected Hindu nationalist positions & its advocates social conservatism & a foreign policy centred on nationalist principles.

As of 2018, it is the country’s largest political party in terms of representation in the national parliament & state assemblies, & it is the world’s largest party in terms of primary membership.

BJP’s origin lies in the Bharatiya Jana Sangh & the State of Emergency in 1977,  Jana Sangh merged with several other parties to form the Janata Party; it defeated the incumbent Congress party in the 1977 general election.

After the 1998 general election, the BJP-led coalition known as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) under “Former Late PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji” formed a government that lasted for a year.

In 2004 general election, the NDA suffered an unexpected defeat, and for the next 10 years the BJP was the principal opposition party & for long time Gujarat CM Narendra Modi led it to a landslide victory in the 2014 general election.

In the 2014 Indian general election, the BJP won 282 seats, leading the NDA to a tally of 336 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha & Narendra Modi was sworn in as the 15th PM of India on 26 May 2014 & vote share of the BJP was 31% of all votes cast, a low figure relative to the number of seats it won.


Leave a Reply

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: